Tuesday, September 22, 2009

31st All India Governor's Gold Cup football tournament Final

GANGTOK, September 21: Calcutta Port Trust Sports Club today lifted the 31st All India Governors’ Gold Cup Football Tournament 2009 beating its city rival BNR Kolkata by a solitary goal scored by Ayan Chaudhary in the 55th minute of the final match played at Paljor Stadium here.

BNR Kolkata, considered one of the strongest teams this year could not score even in the last extra six minutes. However, luck seemed to be in favour of Calcutta Port Trust as more than five players of the winning team were injured in the course of the match.

The Chief Minister Pawan Chamling attended the final match as Governor Balmiki Prasad Singh was presently on official tour. Mr. Chamling handed away the winner and the runners up trophy respectively.

Henry of Calcutta Port Trust Club won the best player trophy. Likewise Tauras T Manneh of Denzong Boys was conferred with the man of the tournament trophy.

Baba Tunde bagged the highest scorer of the tournament with Faria strikers of Goa taking away the Nivia fair play trophy. A record has been set up in the history of Indian football by Baba Tunde of BNR Kolkata by scoring a goal in 13 seconds after the start of the match.

The day also saw Sikkim Football Association felicitate three veteran football players of Sikkim for their contribution in the promotion of football in the State. They were KL Lamtha, Deo Kumar Tamang and chief coach Thupden Rapgyal. The citations were presented by the Chief Minister.

A total of 79 goals were scored and a total of 77 yellow cards and 5 red cards were given to the players in this tournament.

Speaking on the low turnout of spectators in this tournament, Menla Ethenpa, the SFA general secretary said the reason could be early start of the tournament and early exit of Three Stars, Nepal.

No comments: