Tuesday, November 24, 2009

SHRP dissolves Central Executive Committee

We support Gorkhaland statehood demand: AD Subba

GANGTOK, November 24: The Sikkim Himali Rajya Parishad (SHRP) Party chief Dr. AD Subba yesterday announced that an adhoc Central Action Plan Committee of the party has been formed after dissolving the Central Committee.
Addressing the first press conference held here yesterday after its dismal performance in the last general election, Dr. Subba said, the adhoc committee has top ten groups in which five members are there.
The adhoc body consists of Chopel Bhutia, Laden Lepcha, Gopal Chettri, MB Rai, Gyalpo Tamang, LM Subba, Nindey Sherpa, KB Gurung, Bhim Shila Rai, AT Bhutia, OP Bista, PT Lepcha, Bhim Keysi, Laxmi Subba, TT Bhutia, Tara Shesthra, Sumitra Rai, TB Thatal, Bishnu Pradhan, SR Subba and SP Sharma.
Dr. Subba also expressed support for the demand of separate statehood of Gorkhaland. He pointed out that the people of Darjeeling Hills were fighting for their motherland and nothing else.
At the same time, the SHRP leader lambasted on the SDF government for keeping mum over the Gorkhaland issue. He further requested the political leaders of Darjeeling not to fight with each other but to unite and fight together for Gorkhaland.
SHRP president further said that the party will be holding weekly press conferences.
Tara Shesthra, Bhim Keysi, PT Lepcha and Bishnu Pradhan were also present in the conference

No comments: