Monday, September 14, 2009

TNA Students set new swimming records

GANGTOK, September 13: Eight teams from Sikkim as well as from outside the State contested each other to set a new record in the third Himalayan Aquatic Championship organised by SASA at Tashi Namgyal Academy here.
The new record holders of the two day events under various categories had Thomas Guest from Dr. Graham’s Homes in the 100mts freestyle senior boys followed by Sarojini Pradhan under the 100mts freestyle junior girls representing TNA, Bisanta Pradhan under 50mts free style junior girls from TNA and Tsegyal Gyatso, also from TNA under 50mts free style junior boys.
Similarly, Ugen Palden Norbu from St. Augustine’s School set a new record under 100mts butterfly senior boys category, Thachachonparadon from North Point School under 400mts freestyle senior boys, Kalzang Dorjee Sampang from SAS under 100nts back stroke senior boys. In the under 100mts individual medley senior boys KT Thopden, K. Poudyal from TNA under 100mts individual medley junior girls, Rkangarit from DGH in 50mts butterfly senior boys, KT Thopden under 50mts breast stroke senior boys from St. Joseph’s, North Point, Kalzang Sampang from SAS, K. Poudyal from TNA under 50mts back stroke junior girls, 50mts backstroke junior boys, Ghangelkhasankar from North Point, Arvind Pradhan from TNA under 50mts back stroke junior boys.
In the individual championship senior boys category KT Thupden from North Point set the new record followed by Tsogel Gyatso and Yuhana Lachungpa from TNA in senior girl’s individual championship.
St. Joseph, School Darjeeling was declared the best team under the boy’s category while TNA was adjudged the best girls team. From Taktse International School, Shava was awarded the bronze medal and Nawang representing PNG School took two silver medals. In the same way, Kalzang from West Point School was awarded with a bronze medal while Academia, Nimtar won two silver and bronze medals respectively.
The event was attended by KT Gyaltsen, Speaker of the Sikkim Legislative Assembly as the chief guest