Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Delhi Stadium Stands named after Bhaichung Bhutia

Delhi's Ambedkar Stadium
Bhaichung Bhutia already has a stadium named after him, in Sikkim. From Wednesday, one of the stands at the Ambedkar Stadium will be named after the skipper.
The 12 stands in the stadium will be named after 12 footballers — former greats and present players — after the Delhi Soccer Association (DSA) took the suggestion of Dr AK Balyan, ONGC's Human Resources department, that all stands be named after players.

Some of the names include legends like Chuni Goswami, Sailen Manna, Jarnail Singh, Peter Thangaraj, Inder Singh, PK Banerjee, Sahu Mewalal, Bhutia and Sunil Chhetri.

“We thought it's a great idea, so we thought of implementing it, to honour those who served and is still serving the country with distinction,” said DSA secretary NK Bhatia.