Thursday, July 05, 2007

Dr. Shova Kanti Thegim(Lepcha) award given to Pempa Tamang

Gangtok: The tenth Dr. Shova Kanti Thegim(Lepcha) Smrit Purashkar-2007 was given to Shri Pempa Tamang for his book "Akhyandekhi Paraakhyansamma" in a glittering function held at Nepali Sahitya Parishad Bhavan, Gangtok. The award is instituted by Dr. Shova Kanti Thegim(Lepcha) memorial trust in the name of noted litterateur late Dr. Shova Kanti Thegim. The award was given away by Shri P.S. Golay to Pempa Tamang in the function, who was the Chief Guest on the occasion. Shri Sanubhai Sharma presided over the function. A galaxy of luminaries and literary persons and others were present on the occasion. The award carries a cash amount of Rs. 10,001=00, a citation and certificate. Similarly, Dr. Shova Thegim(Lepcha) memorial prize and stipend comprising of cash prize of Rs. 2001/- and Rs. 1500/- p.a. respectively was given to Miss Elisha Manger of PNG School based on the result of the class X board Exam. While addressing the function, Chief Guest Minister P.S. Golay appreciated the contribution of Dr. Shova Kanti, as a poetess and read out few lines of her poem in her tribute. Minister Golay further stated that the trust has played a pivotal role in preserving and promoting Nepali language and literature by means of instituting such an award and proving stipend to students. President of the function, Shri Sanubhai Sharma too highlighted the contribution of Dr. Shova Kanti Thegim and trust. Chairman of Trust, Shri D.T. Lepcha earlier highlighted the objective of the trust in his welcome speech. Shri Nilam Neopaney conducted the function while Shri Pradhumna Shrestha gave vote of thanks.

(Himgiri Nepali)