Monday, June 25, 2007


GANGTOK: The Press Club of Sikkim elected veteran journalist CD Rai as its President for the third time, the elections to which was held at the Club here on June 23.
Amit Patro, Editor of Sikkim Express has been elected Working President uncontested.
Of the 87 members, 79 members cast their votes to elect the new Executive Committee of the Club.
The entire election process was conducted by the recently formed Election Committee headed by senior journalist Subash Deepak, Editor, Wichar; Ms Mala Rana Patro, Publisher, Sikkim Express and Pema Leyda Shangderpa, Correspondent, The Telegraph. Milan Subba, Under Secretary, Information & Public Relations Department was the observer.
The three new Vice-Presidents are Hemlata Gurung, Ranjit Tamu and Radha Pradhan. Bhim Rawat has retained his General Secretary post for this term as well.
The three posts of Joint Secretaries have gone to Suman Gajmer, Suren Mohra and Mingma Bhutia. Parasmani Dangal has won the treasurer post.
Homnath Dawadi and Pranay Lamichaney were elected to the posts of Publicity Secretaries.